February 10, 2022
Surrey Police Board Media Release

On February 7, 2022, a provincial Order in Council was signed, appointing Mr. Avtar Johl to the Surrey Police Board with a term ending December 31, 2022.

Mr. Johl is the municipal appointee to the Surrey Police Board and has been a resident of Surrey for 27 years. Mr. Johl is a Chartered Professional Accountant with experience in real estate development, is the Chief Executive Officer of the Platinum Group of Companies and holds a bachelor’s degree in commerce from the University of British Columbia. Mr. Johl is the past Secretary-Treasurer and board member for the Homebuilders Association of Vancouver, a board member of the Independent Contractors and Businesses Association of BC, and a past member of the Indo-Canadian Business Association.

“We are pleased to have Mr. Johl join the Surrey Police Board,” says Melissa Granum, Executive Director of the Surrey Police Board. “Mr. Johl’s extensive skill set, and his record of public service will be an asset to this board and the work that we do. We are looking forward to his contributions to the Board, which provides civilian oversight of the Surrey Police Service.”

Provincial government, by way of Cabinet, appoints police board members in all municipal independent police services and departments. The Surrey Police Board is made up of seven provincial appointees, one municipal appointee, and the Chair, who is Mayor and a non-voting member of the Board. Board directors are appointed for a maximum term of six years.

Contact Info

Melissa Granum

Executive Director 

Surrey Police Board

Phone: 604.598.5800

Email: Media@surreypoliceboard.ca